Malcolm in the Middle Voting Community Forum Episode Guide Gallery Watch & Download Episodes Home FAQ About Contact Home Store
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Connect with Facebook

   

Go Back   Malcolm in the Middle Voting Community > Malcolm in the Middle > The Wilkerson Times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 6, 2009, 05:00 PM   #1
live4mitm
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 21
Posts: 42
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Malcolm in the Middle HD Episodes?

Malcolm in the Middle HD Episodes FAQ

Last edited by live4mitm; Apr 5, 2010 at 05:57 PM.
live4mitm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2009, 05:05 PM   #2
Seosamh
Junior Member
 
Seosamh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 5
Thanked 12 Times in 5 Posts
Default

i think i can answer 1 question season 4 - 7 are in HD
__________________

CLICK HERE 4 FUNNY MITM QUOTES WITH PICTURES LIKE THE ONE ABOVE
Seosamh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2009, 05:57 PM   #3
tjpeople
Site Administrator
 
tjpeople's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford (sometimes Cardiff)
Age: 26
Posts: 4,561
Thanks: 247
Thanked 173 Times in 101 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to tjpeople Send a message via AIM to tjpeople Send a message via MSN to tjpeople Send a message via Yahoo to tjpeople Send a message via Skype™ to tjpeople
Default

live4mitm, we all want all the episodes in HD but just asking enough times doesn't make it happen. This is what would need to happen for us to get all the episode in HD.

  1. A massive MITM fan, who loves the show enough to put the time & money into do this
  2. Able to receive MITM in HD (few channels air it in HD)
  3. Has the money to pay to get the HD channel ($100/month probs)
  4. Has the equipment to receive it (Around $150)
  5. Has the equipment to record it (over $100+)
  6. Has the equipment and knowledge to decrypt the broadcast (can be very tricky)
  7. Has the PC power to encode the raw files to x264 (or similar) ($1500 at least and many hours per episode)
  8. Then has to wait till every episode has aired, this could take months maybe a year
  9. Has highspeed internet upload, we are talking 0.5-1GB per episode thats 75-150GB for all episodes. At most people's internet upload speed that would take a month or more of constant upload.
So the main factors are time, money and skill.

I have the skill to pull this off, also the commitment and probs the time. However I nowhere near have enough money.

The costs depends how you record, for me to do it:

You need SKY HD - 50 for BOX and 30ish/month to get the channel.
A spare PC, which I have but probs not high spec ennough, so maybe 400 for a new one.
Technotrend S2-3200 PCI card w/ CI addon (Special PCI card to take Satalitle cable in) 120
T-Rex v4.6 CAM module (for decrpting signal) 100
I already have an 8core Mac Pro so encoding isn't an extra cost.

Total costs (est): 650 + on going 30/month. Say I can get all episodes in 6 months. Thats 180, so total = 830

However I think SKY would have to be a minimum 12 months contract so even more like 1000 total.

Now if people are willing to donate to cover my costs then I'd do it. But thats never going to happen.

Another (possibly) cheaper option is to find (one of the few) people who is already setup. Then pay them to do it. No idea what they would expect, but still its a lot of time.

Who knows, somebody may come along one day and have done it already if so contact me and we can work something out. Or if you can help us out also contact me.

If people are seriously interested in donating to get this done, say how much your willing to pledge and we can see if it will work.
__________________
Need help? Email Me Here



Last edited by tjpeople; Jun 6, 2009 at 06:00 PM.
tjpeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2009, 06:56 PM   #4
live4mitm
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 21
Posts: 42
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey, thanks tjpeople for the answer, I knew that it needs a lot of equipment and money. Maybe there will no normal person record it, but i thought of a warez release group. For example there is a german warez website where you can download complete shows in HD for example Lost or King of Queens they even do 1080p releases. So for them it wouldn't be a big thing to do that, but I don't know how to contact people from the warez scene or where to request it.

Off Topic: I really like that you have a Mac Pro I have a MacBook Pro

Last edited by live4mitm; Jun 6, 2009 at 06:58 PM.
live4mitm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2009, 08:23 PM   #5
tjpeople
Site Administrator
 
tjpeople's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford (sometimes Cardiff)
Age: 26
Posts: 4,561
Thanks: 247
Thanked 173 Times in 101 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to tjpeople Send a message via AIM to tjpeople Send a message via MSN to tjpeople Send a message via Yahoo to tjpeople Send a message via Skype™ to tjpeople
Default

There is a major difference between MITM and the likes of Lost or King of Queens.

With lots of TV shows there are Blue-Ray discs available. So all you have to do is buy them and rip them. For anything thats aired in the last 2ish years are recorded in HD when they air for the FIRST time. Only season 6 and 7 where broadcast in HD when they first aired and at the time (nearly) nobody was recording in HD.

If new MITM was airing today, we would have HD episodes no problem.

Since then other seasons have aired in HD, but this is re-runs. Scene (Warez) groups arn't really interested in re-runs. They have more than enough to keep themselves busy with NEW airings.

You have to remeber MITM finished in 2006, most people assume its on DVD so don't think "oh lets record MITM off the TV".
__________________
Need help? Email Me Here


tjpeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2009, 09:41 PM   #6
Lparsons7981
Senior Member
 
Lparsons7981's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts-USA
Age: 25
Posts: 134
Thanks: 11
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Lparsons7981
Default

I'm not really sure of how it works, but seasons 1-5 can never be in HD I thought because they weren't actually filmed using HD cameras?

I was dissapointed to not be able to find the season 1 DVDs at my local Best Buy today, they are usually good with T.V DVDs. God knows they had quite a few copies of "Commander in Chief"

Guess it's Amazon.com for me.
Lparsons7981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2009, 10:26 PM   #7
tjpeople
Site Administrator
 
tjpeople's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford (sometimes Cardiff)
Age: 26
Posts: 4,561
Thanks: 247
Thanked 173 Times in 101 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to tjpeople Send a message via AIM to tjpeople Send a message via MSN to tjpeople Send a message via Yahoo to tjpeople Send a message via Skype™ to tjpeople
Default

When you buy it on amazon help the site out by using this link to amazon. Or via our amazon store! http://malcolminthemiddle.co.uk/store

I'm pretty sure all season will have been filmed on film. Film is in itself HD. So all episodes if they want could be HD, I'm not exactly sure how many seasons they actually broadcast in HD. But they could do them all.
__________________
Need help? Email Me Here


tjpeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2009, 05:48 AM   #8
live4mitm
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 21
Posts: 42
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, all seasons were filmed on Film with Panavision Cameras, so they could broadcast all in HD. So I think we have to wait like you just said, until somebody does the work for us and then we contact each other here.
live4mitm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2009, 08:49 AM   #9
MITM_Fan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 292
Thanks: 22
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seosamh View Post
i think i can answer 1 question season 4 - 7 are in HD
That's not really true, I explain why.

Those HDTV (which LOL released) aren't High Defition, they have 600x352 or sort of and simplifying it's the standard defition.

Only the real HDTV-720P (1280x720) round up to 500MB-1GB (depends on the bitrate) size not 175MB.
MITM_Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2009, 09:17 AM   #10
live4mitm
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 21
Posts: 42
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MITM_Fan View Post
That's not really true, I explain why.

Those HDTV (which LOL released) aren't High Defition, they have 600x352 or sort of and simplifying it's the standard defition.

Only the real HDTV-720P (1280x720) round up to 500MB-1GB (depends on the bitrate) size not 175MB.
We knew that the episodes that you can download on the internet aren't HD, we were talking about if they are airing in HD on TV so someone could record them.
live4mitm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -4 - Time is 02:54 PM

Posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 - Design by Theo Jones
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 Copyright © 2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited
Powered by Reviewpost & PhotoPost, Copyright © 2014, All Enthusiast, Inc
Site Rules | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Valid XHTML & CSS